Change the world

Architecture


Academic Staff
Mr Boban Varghese
Mr. Boban Varghese
Position: Director:School of Architecture
Department: Architecture
Room: 302
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2719
Email: boban.varghese@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B Arch(Kerala);M Des(IIT Bombay); PrArch; MIArch
Expertise: Sustainable architectural developments
Responsibilities: Director: School of Architecture

Andrew Palframan
Mr Andrew Palframan
Position: HOD ; Senior Lecturer
Department: Architecture
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5042719
Email: andrew.palframan@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: M.EESI(KTH Stockholm), B.Arch (UPE), B.BdgA (UPE), Pr.Arch. 21451
Expertise: Design; Theory
Responsibilities: Final Year M.Arch Studio

Paul Makasa
Professor Paul Makasa
Position: Professor
Department: Architecture
Room: 317
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 (0)41 504 4220
Fax: +27 (0)41 504 1057/2827
Email: pmakasa@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD, (TUDelft, the Netherlands), M. Arch (Helsinki, Finland); B. Arch (UNZA), PG Dipl (Poverty Alleviation, IHS-Rotterdam, the Netherlands); PG Cert HDM (Lund-Sweden), PG Cert (Research Methods for Development, ISS-the Hague); PG Cert OSHH (San Jose, Costa Rica).
Expertise: Architecture; Research Methods and Critical Writing; Poverty Alleviation; Housing and Urban Development; Construction Techniques
Responsibilities:  Building Sc (Detail Design and Construction-ADCV100); Design-(AA 403); Urban Studies- (AUS 503)
My site: www.nmmu.ac.za

Mr Stephen Lear
Mr Stephen Lear
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Architecture
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5042244
Fax: 27 41 504 2345
Email: stephen.lear@mandela.ac.za

John Donald Flint
Mr John Flint
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Architecture
Room: 08 - 304
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2719
Email: donald.flint@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B Bldg Sc & B Arch, SAIA
Expertise: ARCHITECT
Responsibilities: AA313, DDE4110, AM101,AS312,ASS102

Mr Barry Bradley
Mr Barry Bradley
Position: Senior Lecturer - Architecture
Department: Architecture
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 3650
Email: barry.bradley@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Construction Technology, Passive Design

Estruwig
Ernst Struwig
Position: senior lecturer
Department: Architecture
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email: ernst.struwig@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Arch M.Arch
Responsibilities: AAV100, ATV100, AT313

Jean-Pierre Basson
Mr Jean-Pierre Basson
Position: Lecturer
Department: Architecture
Room: 301A
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 0415044895
Fax: 0415041737
Email: jpbasson@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BAS (NMMU) M.Arch (prof) (NMMU), ATCL (Guildhall), ITCL (Guildhall)
Expertise: Computer Graphics and Software
Responsibilities: Architectural Presentation Techniques 2, Architectural Computer Usage 2, Architectural Computer Usage 3, Architectural Computer Usage 4, Treatise Supervisor, Design

Administrative Staff
Ms Lourine
Ms Lourine Smith
Position: School Secretary
Department: School of Architecture
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 5042719
Email: Lourine.Smith@mandela.ac.za

Jacqueline
Miss Jacqui Hoon
Position: Administrative Coordinator
Department: Architecture
Room: 210
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 0415042445
Fax: 0415041077
Email: jacqui.hoon@mandela.ac.za

Thandile
Ms Thandile Kosi
Position: Administrative Assistant
Department: Architecture
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 5044795
Email: thandile.kosi@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Dip. Project Management, FMP (UPE)

Mr Andrew Jorgensen
Mr Andrew Jorgensen
Position: Lab Technician
Department: Architecture
Room: 080312
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2502
Email: Andrew.Jorgensen@mandela.ac.za