Change the world

Architecture


Academic Staff
Mr Boban Varghese
Mr. Boban Varghese
Position: Director:School of Architecture
Department: Architecture
Room: 302
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2719
Email: boban.varghese@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B Arch(Kerala);M Des(IIT Bombay); PrArch; MIArch
Expertise: Sustainable architectural developments
Responsibilities: Director: School of Architecture

Andrew Palframan
Mr Andrew Palframan
Position: HOD ; Senior Lecturer
Department: Architecture
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 5042719
Email: andrew.palframan@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: M.EESI(KTH Stockholm), B.Arch (UPE), B.BdgA (UPE), Pr.Arch. 21451
Expertise: Design; Theory
Responsibilities: Final Year M.Arch Studio

Paul Makasa
Professor Paul Makasa
Position: Professor
Department: Architecture
Room: 317
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 (0)41 504 4220
Fax: +27 (0)41 504 1057/2827
Email: pmakasa@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD, (TUDelft, the Netherlands), M. Arch (Helsinki, Finland); B. Arch (UNZA), PG Dipl (Poverty Alleviation, IHS-Rotterdam, the Netherlands); PG Cert HDM (Lund-Sweden), PG Cert (Research Methods for Development, ISS-the Hague); PG Cert OSHH (San Jose, Costa Rica).
Expertise: Architecture; Research Methods and Critical Writing; Poverty Alleviation; Housing and Urban Development; Construction Techniques
Responsibilities:  Building Sc (Detail Design and Construction-ADCV100); Design-(AA 403); Urban Studies- (AUS 503)
My site: www.nmmu.ac.za

Mr Stephen Lear
Mr Stephen Lear
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Architecture
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 5042244
Fax: 27 41 504 2345
Email: stephen.lear@mandela.ac.za

John Donald Flint
Mr John Flint
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Architecture
Room: 08 - 304
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2719
Email: donald.flint@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B Bldg Sc & B Arch, SAIA
Expertise: ARCHITECT
Responsibilities: AA313, DDE4110, AM101,AS312,ASS102

Mr Barry Bradley
Mr Barry Bradley
Position: Senior Lecturer - Architecture
Department: Architecture
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 3650
Email: barry.bradley@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Construction Technology, Passive Design

Estruwig
Ernst Struwig
Position: senior lecturer
Department: Architecture
Location: South Campus
Email: ernst.struwig@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Arch M.Arch
Responsibilities: AAV100, ATV100, AT313

Jean-Pierre Basson
Mr Jean-Pierre Basson
Position: Lecturer
Department: Architecture
Room: 301A
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042244
Fax: 0415041737
Email: jpbasson@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BAS (NMMU) M.Arch (prof) (NMMU), ATCL (Guildhall), ITCL (Guildhall)
Expertise: Computer Graphics and Software
Responsibilities: First-Year Design Studio Master. Architectural Presentation Techniques 2, Architectural Computer Usage 2, Architectural Computer Usage 3, Architectural Computer Usage 4, Treatise Supervisor, Design

Administrative Staff
Ms Lourine
Ms Lourine Smith
Position: School Secretary
Department: School of Architecture
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 5042719
Email: Lourine.Smith@mandela.ac.za

Jacqueline
Miss Jacqui Hoon
Position: Administrative Coordinator
Department: Architecture
Room: 210
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042445
Fax: 0415041077
Email: jacqui.hoon@mandela.ac.za

Thandile
Mrs Thandile Kosi
Position: Administrative Assistant
Department: Architecture
Room: 306
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 5044795
Email: thandile.kosi@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip. Project Management, FMP (UPE)

Mr Andrew Jorgensen
Mr Andrew Jorgensen
Position: Lab Technician
Department: Architecture
Room: 080312
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2502
Email: Andrew.Jorgensen@mandela.ac.za